Osei Palmer drags Dr. Kofi Amoah to FIFA Ethics Committee



Dr. Kofi Amoah 

The battle to succeed Kwasi Nyantakyi as the Ghana Football Association has exceeded what stakeholders never saw coming.

Wilfred Osei Palmer, a tough and vociferous Ghanaian football administrator has dragged the Normalization Committee Chairman, Dr. Kofi Amaoh to FIFA Ethics Committee.

Palmer’s step comes after the GFA Normalization Committee dismissed the Tema Youth President appeal to the committee to seek justice at the vetting Committee level when he was disqualified from contesting the 2019 GFA Elections. Osei Palmer declared his interest to contest the association’s topmost seat and filed his forms and submitted himself for vetting when the opportunity was offered.

The background to it, October 04, 2019 the vetting Committee chaired by Frank Davies announced the disqualification of Wilfred Osei Palmer. Disclosing why he fell shorts with the committee and had to be disqualified. According to the vetting committee, Palmer breached Article 33(5)(c) of the GFA General Regulations and Decision of the Ethics Committee dated December 13, 2017.

October 07,2019, Palmer wrote an appeal to the Normalization Committee before deadline date October 08, 2019 but his appeal was unsuccessful.

Having rejected the verdict of the committee and appealed for the decision to be reversed in his favour to contest the elections, and still facing disqualification, he has dragged the chairman of the Normalization Committee to FIFA Ethics Committee.

The GFA NC raised the points that Wilfred Kwaku Osei Palmer failed to meet the deadline to the submission of the appeal. According to them, Palmer submitted three documents of which two were received at 5:05 pm instead of before the deadline of 4:00 pm making his appeal unsuccessful.

The Legal Team of Osei Palmer petition to FIFA against Dr. Kofi Amish include undue influence in the vetting process, conflict of interest and breach of some codes.

Currently, notable names contesting the seat are George Akwesi Afriyie, Nana Yaw Amponsah, Lawyer Ankoma, Fred Pappoe, Kurt Okraku and Amanda Clinton. Despite various controversies about disqualification, the committee has completed vetting and is due to announce candidates numbers for election.